The Anchor

The storm has taken my ship captive.
The mast long broken,
Lifeboats all spent.

I thank the rope that has me still tied to the ship,
Never to let the rain wash me away

The youthful tree, freshly planted,
Not fully taken root,
And in need of nutrients

Thank the stake that it is bound to;
That gives it firm support,
And to lead it in the right direction.

I thank those who give me hope.
When dark times come, you are there to rescue me.
Though I may dwell there, you are my rock to lean on.

May I delight in our friendship all the more!
And be there for you in equal time of need.

Fittingly Cold

I have no soul
I have no heart
I am cold as stone

I raise my glass to Nothingness
I wade in the tides of Silence
And Patience is my reward

I have no face but that of weather
Long and cold is my sound
Tight and cutting are my actions

Emptily do I shine
And bathe in the coals of Forgotten